Buying a down duvet

Buying a down duvet:
What do you look for?

Are you planning on buying a down duvet, but are no longer able to find your way through the myriad of options? Fja-Oeyen will make sure you know what you need to know for your journey into the world of down duvets and ultimate bedtime comfort. With clear and objective advice, we give you the tips you need to make the right choice.

Request a quote

The down duvets are a bit more expensive, but they last a lifetime. Everyone in our family enjoys Fja-Oeyen down bedding.

Which filling is right for you?

Synthetic fillings

A synthetic filling is mostly made of hollow polyester balls or polyester microfibres. A synthetic comforter or duvet is usually very cheap. You’ll easily clean it yourself in the washing machine, it feels relatively light and it’s suitable for people who have allergies. Unfortunately, a synthetic filling does not offer very good insulation and it absorbs very little moisture. The result: you sweat more easily — especially if the filling is in a synthetic shell.

Woollen fillings

Wool is a natural material with good regulation of moisture and temperature. Wool easily absorbs moisture and releases it into the outside air. As a result, a woollen duvet or comforter rarely feels clammy or sweaty. Furthermore, wool contains lanolin: a material that repels dirt. The biggest downside to a duvet with a woollen filling is the weight. You’re not able to put a duvet with wool in the washing machine either: the best option is to have it steam-cleaned by a specialist.

Down fillings

A down duvet feels light and supple, offers excellent insulation and holds on tight to your body heat. The temperature never rises above your own body temperature of 37°C because the air forms a buffer. Down also works as a moisture regulator and effortlessly absorbs night-time transpiration. Although you’ve probably heard the opposite being claimed incorrectly, a down duvet is actually suitable for people with allergies. The cause of most allergies – the house dust mite – will not flourish in a good quality down duvet that guarantees air circulation. You may also be interested to know that only one in a million people is actually allergic to down and feathers. A down duvet requires professional cleaning in which the filling and shell are washed separately. The only potentially unattractive aspect of a quality down duvet is the price. But if you take good care of it, your down duvet will be with you for life. Better yet, it will help you to enjoy a good night’s sleep. There’s no doubt that the financial investment will pay off!

Types of down

You may wonder why there are such great price differences between down duvets. It all has to do with the quality and the origin of the down, as well as the ratio of down and feathers. Before buying a down duvet, first find out about the quality of the down. Cheap down comes from animals in small cages that are fattened up for consumption as meat. After they’re slaughtered, the down, which is less valuable than the meat and of low quality, is collected and used to fill duvets. Quality-controlled down comes from animals that are specially bred for down, in animal-friendly, free-range conditions in colder environments. The down keeps the geese and ducks warm in winter. When the animals moult, the down is combed from the coat. With genuine, natural down, there are no feathers with hard shafts or follicles. If you know that a healthy goose moults an average of 10 grams of down every year and there are 200 grams of quality down required to fill every square meter of a down duvet, you’ll quickly understand why the price difference is so pronounced. Finally, the ratio of down and feathers also has an impact on the price. At Fja-Oeyen, you’ll find different sorts of 100 per cent pure down with lifetime guarantees. We also have mixes with 90 or 75 per cent down and 10 to 25 per cent feathers.

Duvet shell

There are various materials suitable for use in the shell of your duvet. Most down duvets have a cotton shell. Finely woven cotton keeps down from escaping and allows air through, which is vital for optimal ventilation. It’s best to use a 100 per cent cotton shell. A (partially) synthetic shell is not advised, as it will quickly feel clammy.

The finish on the duvet

The most common finishes are cassettes and channels, whether with a partition or not. Cassettes are used for heavier quality down because the filling in a system with channels sinks too quickly; heavy down is of an inferior quality. Furthermore, the down is stuck in the cassettes, so you can’t shake it up as effectively, as a result of which the down duvet needs to be cleaned more frequently. Only fine, light down is suitable for being processed into channels. Fja-Oeyen fills every channel with exactly the same amount of down. Lightly shake the down duvet every day and have it washed every seven years.

Measurement of down duvets

Most down duvets are available in standard measurements that fit single or double beds: from 140 by 200 centimetres to measurements of up to 260 by 240 centimetres. At Fja-Oeyen, we craft our own down duvets to order in our workshop in Mol. Choose whatever dimensions suit you, with a duvet filled to be as thick or as thin as you desire. As an extra service, we will recuperate the down from an old duvet to make a new duvet. For example, if you would like to upgrade a children’s down duvet to grow with them, we will extend the duvet shell and add the filling as required. This means you will not need to buy a new down duvet or throw away an old one that is still perfectly serviceable.

ACHETER UN ÉDREDON

Acheter un édredon :
quels points à prendre en compte?

Vous voulez acheter un édredon, mais les arbres vous cachent la forêt ? Fja-Oeyen est votre guide dans le monde des édredons. Avec des conseils clairs et objectifs pour faire le bon choix.

L’offre de couettes est énorme et vous avez également l’embarras du choix quant au garnissage. Chaque garnissage a ses propriétés spécifiques qui correspondent – ou non – à vos préférences et à vos besoins en matière de sommeil. Nous vous présentons ci-dessous les types les plus populaires avec leurs atouts et leurs inconvénients.

Acheter une couette

Ce n’est pas un simple édredon, il fait partie de notre patrimoine

quel garnissage ?

garnissage synthétique

Un garnissage synthétique est généralement constitué de petites boules creuses ou de microfibres en polyester. Une couette synthétique est généralement bon marché. Vous pouvez la nettoyer vous-même au lave-linge, elle est relativement légère et convient aux personnes allergiques. Malheureusement, un garnissage synthétique n’isole pas bien et absorbe peu d’humidité. Résultat : vous transpirez plus facilement, surtout si le garnissage est également couvert d’un revêtement synthétique.

garnissage de laine

La laine est un matériau naturel qui offre une bonne régulation de l'humidité et de la température. La laine absorbe facilement l'humidité et l’évacue rapidement dans l'air extérieur. De ce fait, une couette en laine est rarement moite. La laine contient également de la lanoline: une substance qui repousse la saleté. Le plus gros inconvénient d'une couette de laine est la lourdeur. Vous ne pouvez pas non plus mettre votre couette de laine dans la machine à laver : la meilleure option est de la faire passer à la vapeur chez un spécialiste.

garnissage duvet

Une couette en duvet est légère et souple, elle isole bien et maintient la chaleur de votre corps. La température ne dépasse jamais la température de votre corps, c’est-à-dire 37°C, parce que l'air forme une sorte de tampon. Le duvet a également un effet hydro-régulant et absorbe sans problème la transpiration nocturne. Contrairement à ce que l'on prétend parfois, une couette en duvet convient également aux personnes souffrant d'allergies. En effet, le principal responsable de la plupart des allergies - l'acarien domestique - ne survit pas dans une couverture en duvet de bonne qualité qui garantit une bonne circulation de l'air. Bon à savoir: seulement une personne sur un million est allergique au duvet et aux plumes. Une couverture en duvet nécessite un nettoyage professionnel au cours duquel le garnissage et le recouvrement sont lavés séparément. Le seul point faible d'une vraie couette en duvet est son prix. Mais si vous l’entretenez comme il faut, votre couette durera toute une vie. De plus, votre édredon contribuera à un sommeil de qualité. Il n’y a donc pas le moindre doute que l'investissement est payant. Acheter un édredon maintenant ?

Sortes de duvet

Vous vous demandez peut-être pourquoi il y a de telles différences de prix entre les édredons en duvet. Tout est une question de qualité et d’origine du duvet. Mais le rapport duvet-plumes est également un élément déterminant. Un conseil : n’achetez votre édredon qu’après vous être renseigné sur la qualité du duvet. Le duvet bon marché provient d'animaux qui ont été engraissés pour la consommation de viande dans de petites cages. Après l'abattage, le duvet de qualité inférieure est récupéré pour remplir les couettes. Le duvet de bonne qualité provient d’animaux spécialement élevés pour le duvet, dans des conditions favorables à l’animal, en plein air et dans les régions froides. Le duvet garde les oies et les canards au chaud en hiver. Quand les animaux commencent à muer, les flocons de duvet sont enlevés au peigne. Un duvet 100% naturel ne contient donc pas de plumes dures. Si vous savez qu'une oie en bonne santé donne en moyenne 10 grammes de duvet par an en muant et qu'il faut 200 g/m2 de duvet de qualité pour remplir une couette, vous comprendrez que la différence de prix est parfaitement justifiée. Enfin, le rapport duvet-plumes influencera également le prix. Chez Fja-Oeyen, vous trouverez des duvets 100% purs avec une garantie à vie. Mais aussi les mélanges de duvets avec 90 ou 75 pour cent de duvet et 10 à 25 pour cent de plumes.

Revêtement de l’édredon

Il existe différents matériaux pour le revêtement ou l’enveloppe de votre couette. La plupart des édredons ont un revêtement en coton. Le coton finement tissé ne laisse pas passer le duvet mais l’air, ce qui est indispensable pour une ventilation optimale. Optez de préférence pour un revêtement 100% coton. Un revêtement (partiellement) synthétique est déconseillé parce qu’il aura rapidement une sensation moite.

Finition édredon

Les finitions les plus courantes sont les carreaux et les canaux, avec ou sans partition. Les carreaux sont utilisés pour les qualités de duvet plus épais parce que le garnissage dans un édredon à canaux s’amasserait trop facilement dans le bas. Le duvet lourd est de moindre qualité. De plus, le duvet est « fixé » dans les carreaux, ce qui vous empêche de secouer le duvet convenablement, et la couette doit être nettoyée plus souvent. Seul le duvet fin et léger convient à un édredon à canaux. Fja-Oeyen remplit chaque canal avec une quantité identique de duvet. Il suffit de légèrement secouer votre édredon chaque jour et de le faire nettoyer tous les sept ans.

Dimensions édredon

La plupart des édredons sont disponibles dans les dimensions standard d’un lit pour une ou deux personnes : de 140 sur 200 centimètres à 260 sur 240 centimètres. Les édredons de Fja-Oeyen sont fabriqués de manière artisanale et sur mesure dans notre atelier à Mol. Vous choisissez donc des dimensions sur mesure et une épaisseur qui correspond à vos préférences. Enfin et surtout : nous pouvons récupérer le duvet en vue de fabriquer une nouvelle couette. Par exemple si vous voulez une version plus grande ou plus petite, avec plus ou moins de garnissage. Dans ce cas, pas besoin d’acheter un édredon neuf.